What to be Grateful for – The Season of Thanks.

I recently was reading an article about increasing happiness which gave me the idea for this new post. Today, we’re more plugged in than ever before. This gives us, especially younger generations, opportunities to compare ourselves to others constantly. No wonder so many people, especially girls, are feeling less and less happy with themselves and their lives. It’s easy for us to focus on what others seem to have through their social media accounts and not on what we do have and should be grateful for. Since Thanksgiving is approaching, I’ve decided to compile a list of what I’m thankful for. I urge you to do the same and look at the list every time you’re comparing your life to someone else’s. I guarantee you’ll feel better.

Support System

I’m incredibly grateful for the family and friends that I have. They are my support system in ways I cannot even explain. No matter how annoying, loud or grumpy I am, they will always love me and care about me. Every time we get upset over trivial things (maybe for example, a not-so-great test score, a bad night out or a work project that didn’t go the way you wanted it to) we must refocus and remember who (or who) is important in our lives. These trivial things that we obsess over won’t matter in a year. They probably won’t even matter in a few months. If this is the case, they don’t deserve to be stressed over. Just because something doesn’t work out doesn’t mean it’s the end of the world. Instead, appreciate the good things that exist in your life. The things that will matter a year from now.

Health

Do you ever spend the day aggravated or anxious about something and then hear a story about someone with a legitimate problem or see someone homeless on the street? Doesn’t it put everything in perspective? I know I said comparing our lives to the lives of others isn’t a good thing, and I really do believe that. However, I think there are times that we need to snap back to reality because, let’s face it, we all get a little too into our own problems every now and then. This blocks us from seeing real problems in life, and makes it harder for us to be grateful for what we do have. I have my health, and I’m embarrassed to admit I’m not grateful for this enough. Seeing sickness strip away life firsthand, I need to appreciate the fact that I can walk across the street, listen to music, watch a movie and spend time with my family and friends.

Education

 I’m incredibly grateful of the fact that I’ve been able to attend a great high school and Boston University. I believe that our education has a direct impact on who we become as individuals. My high school, an all-girls, catholic school, gave me the ability to carry myself with confidence and to believe in my ideas (no matter what they pertain to). College has allowed me to meet and understand people from completely different backgrounds from my own. It’s allowed me to appreciate those that are different than I am, appreciate what I have and determine what changes I want to make to my life.

 

Of course, our lives are not perfect. They’ll never be. If we can identify wholes in in our lives that need fixing, figure out a strategy of fixing those wholes and then putting those ideas to action, we can move away from wallowing and move toward positivity and a happy life.

Until next time.

X

Leave a Reply

