City Living Doesn’t Give You This View – The Night Sky in Alberta

I’ve lived in or near cities all of my life. Whether it’s New York City, Boston or London, I’ve always been drawn to metro areas. I think part of it has something to do with my need to be around people. I also think I’ve developed a lifestyle more suitable for city living. Urban areas though, while they have a lot of positives, have some real negatives stacked up against them. One of those being the inability to see nature the way one can in rural areas.

I remember the first time I realized how beautiful the sky is. I was on a family cruise trip in the Ionian Sea, going from Italy to a Greek island. The women on the trip took down the pillars on our decks separating us from one another, that way we could all have one long deck. We sat together in the cool night air and could see nothing in front of us. Our only company was each other and the stars in the sky. I had never seen anything like it before. The stars seemed endless. It was a moment in my life where I was reminded of how small we all are and how big the world is. Yet, I had the love of beautiful, strong women around me. In some way, this made me feel just as infinite as the universe.

I recently found a video that brought me back to this very moment. Richard Gottardo shot the aurora borealis over the Rocky Mountains in Alberta. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

